Footpeg slider pegs holding me back?

The stock foot pegs come with these little slider knobs that I manage to put on the ground quite often.  Perhaps this is because I come from riding an R6 and I'm riding this bike more like a sport bike, or maybe I don't know what I'm doing and I'm over leaning the bike.  I'm no professional rider, and even with my R6 I never managed to get my knees down.  Are these knobs on the foot pegs to prevent me leaning so far as to put a knee down?  What's the deal with them? Can I take them off are they holding me back or are they keeping me up?

• Premium Member
remove them - 7mm spanner/wrench needed

look terrible, snag your trousers, especially waterproof overtrousers that have a velcro flap and I find the toe of my boot touches down before anything else to give me a warning I might need to back off a bit
This signature is left blank as the poster writes enough pretentious bollocks as it is.

Anyone know if they're there to keep you from grounding the centerstand? If that touches down, it can lever the rear wheel off the ground... makes for a spectacular high side. I agree they limit cornering clearance, and I'm touching mine down regularly. On my VStrom, I removed them, and promptly grounded the centerstand. I was lucky to avoid the above mentioned spectacular high side, but it was definitely an eye opener.

You can use a little body english to decrease lean angle necessary for a given corner, but ultimately they're going to touch.

Just my opinion but the pegs were put there for a reason and actually look quite good. Appearance is subjective.  If your toe is the first thing to touch the pavement then you're asking for trouble. Ever think about what happens if the toe catches on a bit of rough pavement? At the very least you may have a broken foot/ankle. If your riding gear is catching on the pegs or anything else down there then the problem is your pants - not the pegs.

• Premium Member