How do you ride your FJ-09?

I'm new to this type of motorcycling. After 40 years of cruisers thought I'd try something totally different and exciting. I am however finding that riding this motorcycle like it was a cruiser has left me somewhat disappointed. I know from all accounts this bike is a performer. Am I being to gentle?
I'm looking for advise to get the best out of this bike?

• Premium Member
You need to adjust to the different engine. Adapt your gear changes to be at higher revs. I bet you are short shifting too early. Use the rev counter. Aim to change up at three quarter full revs. Keep the revs over 5000 when riding on open roads, maybe one or two gears lower than you are used to
This signature is left blank as the poster writes enough pretentious bollocks as it is.

I'm new to this type of motorcycling. After 40 years of cruisers thought I'd try something totally different and exciting. I am however finding that riding this motorcycle like it was a cruiser has left me somewhat disappointed. I know from all accounts this bike is a performer. Am I being to gentle? I'm looking for advise to get the best out of this bike?
Yep, follow the manual for your break in period and then get her in the 7-8 k rpm range. Motor is happy up there. You won't hurt it and you won't be disappointed.  
Everyday's a good day when your able to ride

15 FJ-09 - 2WDW ECU flash, Givi SV201, Nelson Rigg tail bag, OES sliders, Koubalink extenders, Ermax Sport, Vista Cruise, OEM seat mod, (smiles)
07 Honda ST1300A (sold)
06 Kawi KLR650 - Big Gun full exhaust, Corbin, Givi, PMR racks, carb mod (keeper)
97 Honda VFR750 - Traxxion Dynamics, Penske, Givi 3 piece, carbon exhaust (keeper?)
20+ years of snowmobiles

Ride it like you stole it.

I don't know the specifics on how you rode your cruisers, as I have seen some people flick em around at thier handling limits pretty well.