High Idle that Doesn't Go Away...

Here's one I don't think I've seen here before.  For the second time in about a month, when I re-started my bike today after about an hour lunch break in the middle of my afternoon ride, the idle raced up to about 2,700 RPM and wouldn't settle down.     Blipped the throttle a couple of times, still wouldn't drop to its normal 1,100 rpm idle. Rode it anyway thinking with a little riding it would drop back down.  20 minutes and two stop signs later it was still idling at 2,700 RPM.  Stopped and turned it off for a couple of minutes, restarted and it was back to normal.  I have no idea what caused this or if anybody else has had this experience.  But anything that makes me think the throttle might have a mind of its own is a little disconcerting.  Is the next step an engine that won't drop below 5,000 RPM??

• Premium Member
It's happened to me once, maybe twice.

In my last life, as a tech in a Xerox factory in the UK I have some experience of this type of oddity. I put the casue down to a confused electron or two. As with your home PC, washing machine etc, the ECU on the Yamaha will not boot up correctly on occasion. Something interrupts the loading of the operating system from ROM to RAM, a sensor does not send the right reading, an alien dematerialised nearby etc etc. As with your home PC, turning it off and back on again fixes it.

It's not something to get anxious about, all electronics do it, even military spec. stuff.
This signature is left blank as the poster writes enough pretentious bollocks as it is.

The same thing, high idle, happened to mine first thing in the morning about 2 weeks ago.
It was like having the choke stuck on. I rode it around the block and blipped the revs a few times and the high idle speed did not change.
I turned it off, removed the key, waited a few moments, and it was back to normal with the next start.
Hasn't happened since.

Yeah, no sorry. Throttle clean isn't going to fix this issue.