What gloves do you ride in?

dakota

In the spirit of the helmet and boots threads... what gloves do you ride in?

I have some aging Alpinestars SP2 gloves. Can't really complain, they have been great warm weather/summer gloves. They are less great in 50 degree rain.

Do you have favorite goretex gloves? Can you stay warm, dry, well protected and still feel the controls? Do you keep a separate pair of summer riding gloves?

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I also have some Alpinestars SP2 gloves that I love. I use them for 90% of my riding. For colder rides, I have a pair of Tour Master Polar Tex gloves. They are pretty good for the cold, but I have to use fleece liners when it gets into the low 30's (Fahrenheit). Without the liners I still have a pretty good feel of the controls, with the liners it is much more ambiguous, but still manageable. They claim to be waterproof, and for the most part the are, but if you are in heavy rain for an extended period of time your hands will eventually get damp, which I attribute to a wicking effect from the cuffs.

I'm also interested in what others use as winter gloves in case I want to upgrade next winter....

'15 FJ-09 w/ lots of extras...

Fayetteville, GA, USA

I've recently gone to a two-set combo of Rev'its because they fit my meaty hands.  Last year, I bought a set of Summit H2O and loved them, so this year I added Dirt 2 for running around in the heat.  I got a chance to use them both over the weekend - 3 hour ride in light rain and 4 degree celsius temperatures and the Summits held up really well.  With the grip heaters, my hands were the only warm part on me and they stayed dry.  Then Saturday, I put on the Dirt 2 gloves for a Total Control training course where it hit 28 degrees on the tarmac.  Both sets were great.  I was really surprised by how well the touch pads on the Dirt 2 worked with my iPhone.