Which earplugs do you use?

dakota

When I started riding I don't remember anyone talking about riding with earplugs. I always used a full face helmet, and spent more time on back roads than highways so rarely went faster than 55. The noise never bothered me that much, but it doesn't mean I wasn't doing any damage.

After getting back into riding and upgrading the rest of my gear I decided that ear plus made sense to protect my hearing long term. However, I was also concerned with the more immediate danger posed by blocking out too much noise. Having been involved in shooting sports I was familiar with cheap foam earplugs and wanted to try something that would block wind noise preferentially rather than just block everything.

Enter the No Noise earplugs (Motorsport version). I don't know how much they actually tune these for different applications vs marketing BS to get people to buy more than one set... but I am totally sold on these.

Noise reduction
5/5

Went on a 50 mile test ride with speeds ranging from 35 to 65. Wind noise was reduced from a dull roar to a very mild woosh. I could definitely still hear the engine, in fact with so much less wind noise it was actually easier to hear the engine. I was not in any stop and go traffic so no opportunity to hear any horns, sirens, etc, but I don't believe that will be an issue.

Comfort
5/5

As far as comfort, these were much more comfortable than the cheap foam earplugs I have used shooting. Will reassess once I have the chance to go for a longer ride but don't anticipate any issues.

Packaging
5/5
I dont expect much in the way of extras with earplugs but I like the little storage tube these come in.

Quibbles