Electrical problem - lighting, horn, etc.

justintime

On my '15 FJ-09 all components powered through the 7.5A signalling system fuse stopped working.  This includes headlight eyebrow running light (main headlight is ok), horn, front running lights, rear running light, brake light, and license plate light.  The fuse blows instanty when the ignition is switched on.  I've disconnected each of the above items and the fuse still blows, so neither of these would seem to be the culprit.  I've looked at the wiring diagram and done what I could to follow the circuitry.  Not being a pro, I'm sure I missed something.  The turn signals work as they are supplied voltage via the 10A running light fuse. Just wondering if anyone else has a thought on this problem. 

Skip:

The previous owner replaced the turn signals with OEM Yamaha LED turn signals, added LED driving lights mounted to the lower fork legs, ECU re-flash by VcycleNUT, replaced OEM horn with louder FIAMM horn, and added OEM Yamaha heated grips.

Given the low miles on the bike (approx. 4,000), I have to beleive the electrical problem is most likely associated with the add-ons and not the original electrical system. As mentioned in my original post, power to the turn signals, horn, rear light assembly, and driving lights was disconnected. Fuse still blows when the ignition is switched on. The heated grips are not on the circuit controlled by the 7.5A signalling system fuse. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

At the risk of stating the obvious, it sounds like you have a short.

To isolate the problem, you might try checking for continuity with a multimeter between the hot side of the component connectors and some ground point. If you see continuity then the fault is somewhere else in the circuit. Keep pulling stuff off until the problem goes away, and your culprit is the last piece you took off.

• Premium Member