New to Sport Touring

Circa58

OK, I'm new yes,,, the last time i rode a motorcycle was a 600cc @ 20 years ago, but my son which is 18 y.o just bought a Kawasaki ZX6R and he asked me to ride with him,,,, I'm 58 y.o. and figured ,, ,Sure, ...but I wont be riding a Sport Bike,,,,

so I'm looking at picking up an 2016 FJ09 new at my local dealer, evidently the suspension needs some help, I'm 210-lbs and 6 foot tall,, so I guess I will come to my own conclusions soon but i am a DIY person, a machinist by trade and an M.E doing sales as my daily profession.

Current hobbies Corvettes and weightlifting :-) I have over 12,700 posts on http://www.corvetteforum.com/forums/ as LD85

Thank you for including me!

Larry

Indianapolis, IN

Read more: http://fj-09.org/thread/4533/new-sport-touring#ixzz4REmNF8iP

Welcome Circa58, we're more than glad to include you. You sound like you can be a good contributor too.

As you say, come to your own conclusions over time. It's a good bike that can be made better for each individual. Do some research on this forum, you'll find a wide range of opinions on a wide range of topics. Remember, each owner has his/her own goals for the bike.

Circa58, your description fits me as well, size-wise.

I came off a 1979 Yamaha XS650 so I find it REALLY hard to complain about anything on my '16 FJ, except the seat. Frankly, the seat sucks. All the posts about suspension, brake and windscreen issues go right over my head because the stocker is SO much better than what I'm used to. Likewise ECU flashes (Good Lord, man, I've got 100+ HP to play with now!), exhaust mods, tire complaints, etc. ad infinitum.

I expect that if I had a history of riding race-ready sport bikes I'd have a different viewpoint, but for this old fart, it's a peach right out of the box.

• Premium Member
Hi @Circa58, and welcome! Looking forward to hearing more from you.

My quick thoughts, in no particular order.