OEM Suspension setup?

jeffritz

Ok, so a suspension noob here. I would like to setup my suspension myself. I understand the workings behind spring preload and valve damping (compression & rebound). Its the setup theory that confuses me.

For example I hear that you want 30% rider/race sag. But I'm assuming this changes with type of bike and suspension. So I also hear that a manufacture will recommend XX% sag based on the OEM suspension on the bike.

What I'm looking for is concrete numbers. Does Yamaha call for a magic mm/% of sag front and rear for the FJ? Is this found in the service manual?
Should the front match the rear? Is it all just voodoo that gets passed from Jedi suspension tuner to apprentice?

So would like to know the optimal:
Race sag (Front/Rear)?
Static sag (Front/Rear)?
Where these figures are found for the FJ-09?

Don't mean to sound like a asshat demanding something that does not really exist as a 100% absolute. Just after hours of research trying to make sense of it all.

Thanks!

Race sag and static sag are the same thing. Text book for a street bike F/R is 28%-33%. After you set it jump up and down on the pegs with someone watching for equal travel F/R. Adjust as necessary until they're the same.

Typically, if you add preload you'll need to add dampening and vice-versa.  Too little dampening and the suspension will be bouncy, too much and it will be harsh.

Ill have to do some more reading up but I understand there is an art to setting up suspensions. This is exactly the information I was looking for. Concise and to the point, enough to get me in the right direction.

I'm sure once I start to tweak and ride I'll be heading back here for more advice.

Thank you lee!

Race sag and static sag are the same thing. Text book for a street bike F/R is 28%-33%. After you set it jump up and down on the pegs with someone watching for equal travel F/R. Adjust as necessary until they're the same.