Shopping... Debating FZ vs FJ

Hello!

I've just started lurking, and trying to read up before I post something that has been over-discussed like a NOOB.

I actually signed on to the FZ forum with full intention of buying one. I went to the dealer this past weekend to kick some tires, and the FJ was sitting there winking at me. I have yet to ride either, but my dealer has demos for both that I can come back to ride, and I will soon.

My background is in motorcross, and I've owned 6 two-stroke 250's (KX250). I'm used to snappy throttles, and flickable weight. I transitioned into enduro, and rode for many years on and off road. I've borrowed friend's R6's, have logged a decent amount on a buddy's VStrom1K, but the bulk of my long riding days were on a K L R 650, so NEEDLESS TO SAY, ANY bike will be a VAST improvement to that, on highway.

While I fully intend to ride both FZ/FJ to make a decision, I wanted to ask about the many issues on the FZ and their differences on the FJ. The big argument in the FZ forums is that the FJ price premium over FZ is not justified, and that one can purchase aftermarket parts to basically build an FJ for half of the MSRP difference, aside from the larger fuel tank and ABS/TC. I get that. But, I don't want to buy a bike just to tear it completely apart right from the start, and I don't want a frankenstein bike either. I want something worthwhile that I only add a thing or two to make it perfect. This is why I'm leaning FJ. I also put a lot of value in the safety features and added range.

QUESTIONS:
Is the suspension confirmed to be significantly better than the FZ? My dealer has a well known suspension tuner in the shop, and they assured me he'd set the stock suspension for me (5-11, 182lbs). Is a well tuned STOCK suspension going to be sufficient? I intend to commute 10mi to work daily, twisties on the weekend, occasional 200-300mi on the weekend. I do ride very hard. I may hit the track with my R6 buddies here and there.