Hi from Australia

kelpie

Hi everyone and thanks to those who got this forum up and running.  It helped with my decision to update the kawasaki kle 500 which I've been riding for the past 23 years. 
Have been looking at the kawasaki versys 1000 and triumph tiger 1050/800 but this tracer seems to be the one.
My local dealer got a demo in especially for me, done 0.2km. Took it for a 40km ride, gave me a good offer so signed up and rode it another 180km home.
This bike is well put together, handles great with smooth throttle and corners effortlessly, a few vibes start in top gear when engine is working at highway speed but only very mild.  Also still a bit cautious down gravel, it impressed me. Coming from around thd 33hp bike and onto 115hp thought it would be a daunting machine but so smooth don't think I would get into trouble unless I asked for it. Also asked my dealer if the Australian version is speed limited and been told it isn't.

A couple of problems I have noticed however which your probably all aware of or may offer some light on the situation.

* Very hard to find insurance as none of them have heard of the MT-09Tracer, or they have a high premium as they possibly put it as a hoon bike.
* The right hand guard is too low.  Is this on all the bikes?
* I have a whining noise when in 6th gear - its quite loud and lesser extent in 3rd. Has anyone else had this?

Thanks for the site and helpfull information within.

;) G'day Kelpie,
Congratulations! You just may be the first official Aussie owner of the MT-09 Tracer on this great forum!
where abouts are you?
And, how in Gods name did you get a test ride so fast? Damn it! I just put a deposit down just last Friday!
Can't help you with your issues, but some of the long term owners here can help.
The issue with the hand guard seems odd. Could the steel bracket offset be bent?