When Do You Start Riding?

So I live in Alberta.  I started riding 5 years ago when I was 35 - definitely a lot smarter and more mature time to learn.  Being over cautious I would never pull my bike out until late spring after a couple of rainfalls and a street sweep to get all the salt, sand and gravel off the road. I have never laid my bike down ever and don't want to find out what it's like.

I bought my FJ 09 in January.  It's still sitting at the dealer waiting for the snow to melt and the -20c weather to go away.  It's killing me because I want to ride my new machine.  The long term forecast is showing maybe +12c for a high next week.  I'm probably going to pick up the bike then and just ride it extra cautiously.  (I don't think I'll ever buy a sweet bike in the winter again :))

So - around here you typically don't see too many riders hit the road until June.  Am I nuts in just thinking that as long as I ride uber safe (which is always anyway) that I'll be fine?

When do you all start riding?  We all have different comfort levels...just seeing what everyone else's is.

I rode dirt bikes as a young teenager and got my MC endorsement on my 16th bday. I was able to avoid the MC driving test because Indiana wasn't making it mandatory until later that summer. Yes, this has been a few years ago. I rode on and off until I got married. We (she) agreed, no riding until the kids were grown. When my youngest turned 21, I picked up a 2011 Royal Enfield Classic Chrome. This was a great bike to start riding again. 29 HP, 400 LBs, upright riding position. I rode this all last year. I knew I would want something more powerful, fun in the twisties and capable of an occasional weekend trip, just not so soon. The FJ seemed to fit the bill. All this and under 10 grand new.
So I picked mine up in early February and so far have got to ride it once. (15 miles in B-mode).
Oh, by the way, I am taking the MSF course this spring. I probably should have done this long ago.