R1200RT to Tracer GT?

I have been riding a BMW R1200RT for 7-8 years. I’m 6’2  and 250 lbs. I ride 7000-8000 miles a year on multi day trips to Arkansas, Colorado, and at least one trip of 10-12 days to parts unknown. Usually 3500-4500 miles. I live in Dallas.  I’m intrigued by the 900GT. A little smaller, a lot lighter, and more powerful than my RT. Is this GT a bike that I can do the type of riding that I described in relative comfort. I have read a lot of positive reviews. But would like to know about practical experience. Thanks.

Doug

I have come from, and still have, a Kawasaki Concours 1400 to the 900GT. I have also ridden an R1150RT. Both these bikes are smother, more comfortable and have better wind protection. I would say there is a very big difference in the 900GT in that it is not as comfortable and smooth as either of the other bikes, but it is a lot more fun in many ways. It is much taller and you will have the feeling of sitting up high on the bike rather than down in it like BMW. it is lighter and quicker definitely. I think it will boil down to exactly what type of riding you end up enjoying the most. I do like long cruises with some twisty roads on the Concours, but I like tight twisties more and really think that is where the 900GT will shine. If this is going to be your only ride then maybe try to get a long test ride on one some how.

• Thumbsup 3

• Premium Member

I have a 2016 R1200 RS in addition to my 900 GT.  The BMW has the newer water cooled engine with 125 bhp, your current RT is probably an oil head with around 110 bhp.  The 900GT has around 105 bhp.  I seriously doubt the GT is more powerful than your RT, but it probably is close enough for all practical purposes.

If you ride solo, the 900GT will work fine for what you describe.