Looking to pick up a 2015 FJ 09!

Pretty excited about the bike and price, but before I get too hyped want to see if I need a reality check.

First, the bike is about four hours away from me and I'm gonna bring a buddy to pick it up. The reason I'm doing this is that it's listed at 4.8k where in my area the lowest I see is 6.5k. He said he will go down to 4.6k.

The bike has 17k miles and I won't be able to do a PPI. Is there anything I should look for when checking out the bike? Is the mileage too high and not doing a PPI may be a big mistake? I have basic mechanical knowledge and going to ask to test ride it. I plan on calling him the night before and asking questions about the title and etc. Price seems too low.

Gonna use the bike to ride some distance and ride with buddies who have things like FZ1 and FZ09s.

Anyway, looking for advice and opinions. First time out of a cruiser and first time purchasing this far away.

fj 09 2.jpg

fj 09 3.jpg

fj 091.jpg

• Thumbsup 1

• Premium Member

I see some valuable farkles in those photos. I see factory luggage and other add-ons like crash bars and extra lights and radiator guard and larger windscreen. I would expect to see such things from someone who takes care of their bike.

The only thing that you may want to check is the sound of the cam chain tensioner. Sometimes they rattle and need to be replaced. I would expect the owner of this bike to know about it and whether it has been replaced already. Your FZ09 buddy may know about it too.

Mileage too high? No, 17K is not high. You think the price is low and yet you talked him down from that? I'd be more concerned about someone beating me to it with a full price offer. It is riding season after all.

2015 red FJ-09: Cal Sci screen, Sargent seat, ECU flash, slider combo, cruise, Rizoma bars, Matts forks, JRi shock, slipper clutch

Awesome news to here, I'm pretty excited about the bike.