Fork Uneven Height

ozn3

It's my first time fiddling with suspension setups and I recently had mine adjusted by a mechanic. I had my forks raised by 5mm from the stock position (flushed at the triple clamp). Bike handled when I took the bike for a spin.

Upon re-checking when I got home, the right fork is slightly higher by approximately .5mm - is this a big cause for concern or doesn't matter? Apologies for my OCD-ness..

• Supporting Member
4 hours ago, ozn3 said:

Upon re-checking when I got home, the right fork is slightly higher by approximately .5mm - is this a big cause for concern or doesn't matter? Apologies for my OCD-ness..

No concerns at all.

• Thumbsup 2

***2015 Candy Red FJ-09***

as @stumpy, just check that the torque of the pinch bolts is set correctly so that it isn’t that one side was set evenly but is now creeping out of position. If all is good then I would leave them as they are.

Red 2015 Tracer, UK spec (well, it was until I started messing with it...)

This topic makes my head hurt.  Please help!

By sliding the fork tube UPWARDS in the clamps the stock rake and trail measurements are both REDUCED.   Correct?

Reducing both these measurements has to make the bike more unstable, especially at speed (less trail).    Correct?

Take a look at this series of diagrams to see what I mean.

But... does the increased weight on the front wheel offset the instability caused by the reduction of rake and trail?

And...  has anyone actually (accurately!) measured the real-world increase in weight on the front wheel caused by a 10mm raise of the forks?

Or is this fix another internet  urban legend?  :)

And no fair saying "I did it and it just feels better."  Of course it feels better YOU did it!!

Thanks for the help getting my bean around this topic.

Edited by nhchris
1968 Triumph Bonneville 650
1971 Norton Commando Roadster
2002 Harley 1200 Sportster
2003 Honda ST 1300
2016 FJ 09

• Supporting Member