OEM Heated Grip Question

skeelo221

Hello, 

First post here, just picked up a 2015 FJ-09 w/ 14k miles.  It has the OEM heated grips which integrate nicely into the dash. 

I attempted to install some Progrip 714 grips to aid in the really bad handlebar vibrations I am getting.  As I have no experience with heated grips, I falsely assumed the wiring was internal and I tried to cut the outer rubber grip off so I could installed the Progrips.  Well that didn't work as the wiring is all molded into the RH grip / throttle tube assembly.  

So...is it possible to just buy a replacement RH heated grip?  I hope I don't have to buy a full new kit for $275 but I don't see any PN for just the individual LH and RH heated grips.  Does anyone have a PN for that? 

And I guess if you have heated grips you are just stuck with the grips that are on there?  Unless you want to use a wrap like Grip Puppies or the like? 

• Supporting Member
11 minutes ago, skeelo221 said:

I attempted to install some Progrip 714 grips to aid in the really bad handlebar vibrations I am getting.  As I have no experience with heated grips, I falsely assumed the wiring was internal and I tried to cut the outer rubber grip off so I could installed the Progrips.  Well that didn't work as the wiring is all molded into the RH grip / throttle tube assembly.

Wow, expensive lesson for sure.

I normally like a softer/tackier grip and was looking for something else as well but as you found out, the heating element is built into the grip.

***2015 Candy Red FJ-09***

Afaik, you're stuck. I used grip puppies.

Doesn't say right/left in the parts lookup I used but I'd guess the more expensive is the throttle side due to the tube. These are yocracing prices. 

(1MC-82960-00-00) GRIP, WARMER
  View    Compare
   Price  $185.99       
(1MC-82960-10-00) GRIP, WARMER
  View    Compare
   Price  $138.99