GP Suspension 25mm Cartridge Kit + Ohlins YA 537 Shock

mbassani

Hey all, 

So I bought a 2019 Tracer 900 (Non-GT) new for a stupid deal I couldn't say no to. 

My background is in track riding and racing so the stock suspension left me extremely wanting. For comparison my track bike is on Öhlins pressurized forks and a TTX36 rear. 

After the first track day this year since COVID I connected with a race shop that does suspension tuning at the track, they happened to have a YA 537 with a 1.00 spring in stock that I got for a pretty great deal. I rode on the stock forks and Öhlins rear for a few weeks before it became extremely apparent how weak the front suspension is on the Tracer 900. Fortunately for me GP Suspension located in California is about 10 minutes from where I live and earlier in the year they rebuilt the suspension for my track bike. I brought my Tracer to them and instead of ordering the Öhlins NIX 30 cartridge kit I decided to give their front cartridge kit a try. 

I just got the bike back and the different is fairly astonishing. I also had 1.00 springs installed in the forks. While the stock suspension would dive fairly deep into the stroke under moderate to hard braking the 25mm Cartridges keep the bike far more under control while under braking, the valving keeps the forks far closer to the middle of the stroke so even braking under rough roads does not upset the chassis like the stock suspension did. For my street bikes I tend to aim for 28-30mm of sag and got the Tracer set at 30mm very easily with some help from the tech at GP. 

Likewise setting my rebound was very easy, thankfully you can set a very solid baseline rebound on a bike standing still, compression takes a little more trial and error while riding. 

The stock suspension is fine for a budget piece of kit but the shared compression and rebound functions in the right fork leg really end up compromising both and leaves the left leg as a dummy with a spring and fluid only.