Flashed ECU Check Engine Light

Vacant Planets

Hello! I recently had my 2019 Tracer 900 ecu reflashed by 2wheeldynoworks. I received my ecu and reinstalled it into my bike. I reassembled all the fairings and started her up. I immediately noticed that the check engine light was on and it did not go away after riding the bike for a short while. I have a Black Widow full exhaust system and a K&N performance air filter installed. I told them about those modifications when I sent in my ecu. I also noticed an extreme amount of popping/backfiring even after installing the reflashed ecu.

I’m not exactly sure how to troubleshoot this issue without taking the bike apart again. Any advice would be appreciated. 

I’m not an expert, but my understanding is that it is common for an ECU flash to turn off the AIS system. Air Induction System allows extra air into the mix when you decelerate, to dilute the otherwise unburnt fuel. If AIS  is switched off, the the unburnt fuel can cause backfires in aftermarket exhausts.

Red 2015 Tracer, UK spec (well, it was until I started messing with it...)

24 minutes ago, Vacant Planets said:

Would turning off the AIS system turn the check engine light on? That’s my biggest concern. 

Not to my knowledge. I unplugged mine before I had the flash installed, using this kit.

s-l400.jpg

<p> The AIS Valve Removal kit by SmartMoto will let you remove the AIS...

You’ll see that it has a wiring plug adapter, but I thought it was just to cover up the empty socket. 

The only things I can suggest are:

- remove and refit the ECU in case you didn’t quite get the wirings connectors seated properly

- ask your ECU flash  vendor to confirm AIS is off and that it shouldn’t throw an engine check light.

Red 2015 Tracer, UK spec (well, it was until I started messing with it...)

I've just had my bike flashed.