Removing wheels

joe72t

Hello All,

Going to remove my wheels and bring them to a tire shop for new rubber.  I've never done this before so just a few questions please:

-I will be using the centre stand.  In what order should I remove them?  Do I need to use jack stands?

-I will use blue locktite on the threads.  What type of lubricant is best for the axles?

-Any other tips to make this go smoothly?

Thank you in advance and be safe out there.

Joe 

A lot of this depends of you level of comfort with safety measures for which I have a large tolerance.

What I do, with the bike on the center stand, I simply remove the rear wheel.
Then I use a floor jack on the header with a padded chunk of wood to slightly raise the front, remove, then lower the front forks on a tall block of wood.

Loosen all axles, calipers, speed sensors...ect before doing the center stand tango.  Same goes for tightening, get the wheels on, then tighten everything up.  No lube on the axles, besides maybe slight antiseize or oil for corrosion.
I also don't use locktite, but I check things regularly.

50184096236_c343c0ea1c_b.jpg

Edited by kilo3
english
  • Thumbsup 2

Very light coat of grease on axles for corrosion and wheel bearing failure.

I need to come up with a lift for the front of the bike for removing head bearings. Thinking of wood going to crossover pipe on exhaust header.

• Thumbsup 2

Remove rear first, then I use a ratchet strap from the handlebars to a beam in my garage and simply ratchet the front end up off the floor a bit - then remove. 

PS -  remove both calipers to avoid a rim scratch. Don't ask how I learned this.

• Thumbsup 2
  • Haha 2

Be gentle with ABS sensors and tape up and out of the way during entire removal n install procedure.

I use a dab of blue locktite on caliper bolts.  Don’t over torque anything!

helpful to take a few pics pre removal to see where spacers live for reinstall.  (Don’t ask how I know this.)

I put 2x4s under the headers to hold her up.