Thoughts after 400 miles on the odo by root

The weather's been pretty off and on around here so I only have about 400 miles so far.  Anyway, I think that's enough to give some impressions.  First off, a little background on me.  I've been riding for just over 2 years.  I'm  6'1" and in my low 30s.  Certainly past the time of wanting to do too many stupid things on the road but still young enough to have a little fun.  I have a typical large american build at the moment. That's code for fat for those of you that weren't sure.  I learned to ride on a 1970 Honda CB450K3.  The 450 was way too small for me in both power and just general size.  I would pretty much sit on the back seat and my friends on light weight cruisers would have to take it very easy for me to keep up with them even though I was nearly full on throttle.  If we were accelerating up hill, forget about it.  I would catch up to them at the next stop.  2up with my wife was technically possible if I crammed myself up on the tank.  She felt very insecure as if she would fall off the back.  We didn't do anything more than a handful of 3 mile trips 2 up on that thing.  I still have the 450.  It is 45 years old now and just increasing in value.  It's almost cheaper to insure 2 bikes than to get rid of it.  It is in very good shape and runs great with about 10,000 miles on it.  It was my dad's for 20 years, and I know the original owner.  I view it as an investment and a family heirloom.  Other riding experience, I rented a (H)arley Ultra Limited and took my wife on a 1,000 mile trip over a long weekend to Northern Michigan.  Although I liked the HD, I didn't like the weight, and I didn't like the feet forward seating position.  I felt like I was sitting on my tailbone and my lower back hurt from riding.  I also didn't like the heel toe shifter.  It was then I decided I really didn't want a heavy bike.  We both enjoyed the trip enough that I wanted a bike that could handle a trip like that.  I was looking at t