• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 42 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

New from near Memphis

1moreroad

• Premium Member
I've been lurking on this forum for a few weeks and had some questions answered by Deer Slayer via PM.

The FJ-09 is the first motorcycle that has gotten me truly excited in over 10 years.  Today I had the opportunity to "test sit" on it at the dealer.  I continue to be impressed.  I can flat foot it no problem (5'10").  Yes, the handlebars are wide, and, yes, the screen is a little far away, but I've read enough reviews of aftermarket screens to think that the second problem can be solved.  My hands sit nicely on the bar although I think hanging off on my rare track days (in the mid-00s, I used to do 1 - 2 days / year for the training and fun) will be difficult.  The Memphis dealer is having demos of the FJ, both FZ naked bikes, and the FJR next month.  I plan to go.

A little history about me:

I started riding in 2001 to get through Los Angeles traffic faster.  I think I was the 5th owner of my first bike (and know of at least two more owners after me), a beater 1991 EX-500.  I put 10,000 miles on that bike in 10 months, but came to spend more hours repairing the bike than riding it. The EX was replaced with a 2001 ZX-6R with 3600 miles on it.  That bike truly saved me HOURS commuting (carpool lane and legal lane splitting), toured with me in 25 states, and completed 1 certified Iron Butt.  I sold it in 2008 with about 77,000 miles on it.