Suspension Musings

smifff

I've had some interesting experience with the suspension on the FJ and thought it worth posting, it may well help those looking for cost effective improvement, I'm 220 / 230 lbs.

When I first bought the FJ, great bike but unsettled when pushed hard (for me) over rough roads, too much brake dive and hard to hold a line or change line mid corner, great bike just not quite right.

First thing I did was change the shock, a lot of people I know default to this I think because it's easy, I bought a Wilbers that turned out to be set up badly, too hard a spring and too much compression damping, it's a work in progress.

I then really bit the bullet and bought Intermediate cartridges from Pattonme / Forks by Matt. Installed those, huge improvement but due to the shock the bike still wasn't right. Matt provided .9 springs, originals are apparently .7.

Here's where it gets interesting, 

I put the stock shock back on to get the Wilbers sorted, I wound the preload up to full and closed the rebound adjuster fully then backed it off by half a turn expecting it to be too soft and under damped, well I was wrong, I had to back the preload off to position 5 from 7. That gave me close enough to the right sag and the shock worked much better than I was expecting.

Looking at raw numbers the bike as standard seems unbalanced, .7 front to .9 is roughly a 30% increase and arguably I could need .95, the rear spring at 100 nm is close to correct, I've gone to 110 nm but I think either would be ok, so correct to possibly 10% light.

The guts of the story is, if I'd done the forks first I doubt that I'd have bothered upgrading the shock, with forks sprung correctly and actually having effective damping and the stock shock set up the bike is hugely improved.

I realise that this won't necessarily be correct for others, but, if I had my time again, at my weight, I would do the forks first then re-assess.