• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 39 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Lurker extrodinaire

tinboaqtcapt

Um ... Hi ... My name is Jim and I'm addicted to BIKE.
It's winter here, ice and snow everywhere. The toys are all stored with care. So now it's: plan the summers trips and rallies. Also, as my main ride is past 100K miles this summer it is my benchmark to start looking for it's replacement. The FJ-09 has caught my eye.
I lurked around some of the postings before I registered. And, clearly I need an intervention. I fat fingered my user name and spelled it incorrectly. Now I need to remember to add the errant "q" in Tinboatcapt.
This is about introductions. So. I've been riding since 1966. Two Suzuki's, A Triumph, Two BMW's, and Now I have 4 Honda's. The main ride is a 2000 ST1100 with some suspension mods, seat, and a list of farkles. The other main bike is an '86 Wing Aspencade SEI with a California Side car. It's easier to get the groceries with the tub hung on the side. There is a lot of space in there.
I will probably keep the ST when I replace it with something for the distance rides. The ST has spoiled me with it's 7 gallon tank, smooth V4 motor, long wheel base, and compared to many bikes; it's simplicity. I confess to tiring of R n R the Tupperware to do simple maintenance. I've not had a Yamaha yet, so why not try one, Eh?
The other bike catching my eye is the Honda VF1200X. It just came into the US this year, but has been getting good words on it's forum. So many choices. And not like the 'good 'ol days' when about the only difference between bikes was the brand. Parallel twins are sooo old school.
Y'all ride safelyJim

• Premium Member
Welcome aboard tinboaqtcapt, glad to have you join us. The FJ-09 does many things well. It's not perfect, but it sure is fun to ride, and keeps a smile on my face.......

• Premium Member