Greetings from the UK

yannm

Hi everyone,

I'm picking up my 2016 Race Blu Tracer this afternoon. I can hardly wait.

I'll be doing a part-exchange with my Kawasaki Versys 1000. I'll be sad to see the Versys go as it's been such a good bike that took me on many adventures in the UK and Europe. But I'm so excited about the new Tracer. The two bikes have very different character and I'm looking forward to the change.

I guess that for a while I'll be looking at accessories! First in the list is to find a screen to replace the awful, noisy thing that comes with the bike.

Yann

• 2 weeks later...
Hi owle,

The lower weight and smaller overall size is what attracted me to the Tracer.

The Versys was a spectacular touring bike with an incredible engine and a comfy seat. I rode 29000 miles with ease on that bike. But the 30kg difference was immediately obvious when I started riding the Tracer! The engine is not as torque-y but it just wants to play. ;)

Since it is sold as a Sports Tourer there are a few troubling omissions that I will have to work around. There is no logical place to fit a SatNav (on the handlebar for now but not satisfactory). What, no remote preload adjustment?? Yamaha doesn't offer hard panniers in Europe. Weird, but solved with a very nice set of Givi Trekkers.

Yann

Since it is sold as a Sports Tourer there are a few troubling omissions that I will have to work around.  
Yann
IMHO the sports-tourer designation is rubbish.   It's a 95% sports 5% tourer, and even the spending of a lot of dosh isn't going to change that.   I'd really like to see Yamaha produce a real/ serious touring-oriented bike based on the CP3 engine, but with lots of refinements.   But that would undoubtedly take it out of the excellent-value-for-money category in which it currently reigns.   And it's weird that if Yamaha doesn't offer the hard panniers - they are OE here - why have they left on the pannier rails?