FJ 09 NEWBIE

ladyinred

Hello Forum!   Newbie here from NM.  After perusing FJR forum for months, thinking I would purchase FJR, I came across an FJ 09 at the local BMW dealer... research & YouTube vid's  convinced me this was the bike for me.  At 70 I was looking to downgrade from a Honda 1800vtx, a mere 880 lbs. bike.  Low ctr of gravity made it very manageable and enjoyable, but frankly I was getting tired of the big cruiser bike.  I looked online at hundreds of FJR's, great bike, low maintenance and reliability, yet I didn't feel comfortable  since I couldn't flat foot or half flat foot on FJR that I sat on at the local Yami dealer, even when the seat was in low position.  I'm 5-8, 29" inseam.  My other delightful bike was a 1994 Yamaha virago 1100 - a really fun and easy to ride bike.  Never had any issues with the virago, plugs and oil changes were Std maintenance.  I'm sold on Yami for reliability. Sold both bikes this winter.   Tuesday I stopped at the Beemer dealer, demo 2015 FJ09  for 2 hours, 17,700 miles, WOW an incredible bike, nibble, fast, comfy, joy to ride, soft butter turns... dealer was asking 6,900 - got it for 5,500.  All recalls have been addressed. Has side and top GIVI boxes, heated grips, cagers, bar risers, Vstream screen.  Seat doesn't fit me well, I keep sliding Fwd some, though it's set on high.  I need seat on lower setting.  I'll take it to the  upholstery shop and have the front horn of the seat raised up a bit and the butt part lowered some.  I think this will allow me to sit more upright.  The handle bars seem to be further out stretching my arms out more then normal.  I think the previous owner was a taller fellow.  Hopefully with seat adjustment the bars won't be an issue.  I'll try to add a pic of "Ladyinred" not sure how to do it yet. "Add image to post" won't accept bike image regular or thumbnail. 

Any suggestions on handle bar?  
Recommendations for seat adjustments for custom fit?
Anything I should know about the Fj09?