GPR steering damper/stabilizer

I had mentioned that I found the bike a bit wayward when pushed hard, and more so with the hard cases fitted. This led me to purchase a GPR damper. The unit was  listed for the MT-09/FZ-09, but I took the risk on the fittings being pretty similar to the FJ/Tracer. I have posted a long thread on the fitting of the unit and issues to be aware of - Here

Anyroadup, I went out today to test the stabilizer/damper. It was cold and windy and I had my Yamaha hard city cases mounted.

Whilst it was noticeable at slow speeds of up to 30mph that there was a gentle resistance in the steering, it didn't cause any problems with manoeuvring. I built up to riding fast and accelerating hard in a straight line at first, and there were no wobbles. I started riding hard out of bends to the stage where the traction control was cutting in, and there were no wobbles. I then rode the bends hard and drove hard out of the deliberately riding on the cats eyes, and there were no wobbles. I manually tried to induce instability by shaking the handlebars, the bike just stayed stable and corrected itself immediately upon me stopping shaking it. I rode at high speed amoungst the turbulent traffic on dual carriageways, again there was no problem.

So my personal issue has been solved. I am happy that the bike is now stable even with luggage fitted at an indicated 135mph (on a private road)'ish. I feel that it has the high speed and cornering stability of a much heavier bike like my Super Tenere, but with the quick steering and excitement of my MT-09 street tracker.

Job done  8-)

Thanks Scuff for the review.  Although I haven't had the indicated problem, I own a GPR4 and have thought of installing it just in case.  Knowing that I could do 135mph, if I could (US neutered version) I might reflash and at least have that capability if I so desire while in Nevada.

What setting did you try to accomplish the results you noted.  (I see 4 below)
BfKobmY.jpg