New Tracer 9 Owner from CT

Hi all, I’m a newbie to this site from Waterford, CT. Just picked up a new (leftover) 2022 Tracer 9 GT that I’m looking forward to getting very familiar with. I’m a retired engineer, been riding for 55 years, started out riding Yamaha enduro dirt bikes, then several Honda street bikes, settled on the Honda VFR and rode a couple of those for 18 years. Wanted something bigger and more comfortable, so moved to a Kawasaki Concours 1400 for the last 14 years. The C14 is an amazing bike (even did a few track days on it!) but as I get older, I was getting tired of the 675-pound weight. So, the circle is complete – I’m back to the Yamaha family on a much lighter and hopefully more fun Tracer. I look forward to learning from the wisdom of this group, and will help out whenever I can.

Out with the old and in with the new!

Current Left1.jpg

2022 Tracer 9 GT.jpg

• Thumbsup 7
  • Like 1

Welcome! You'll enjoy the T9GT!

I still have my C14 (1st gen), an '08 with a lot of farkles and mods. I agree the weight and older tech is starting to wear on me. But I appreciate the shaft and electric windshield over the Tracer. Looks like yours is a newer 2nd gen, what year? I'm assuming you traded it in for the Tracer, or did you sell it separately? There's a few of us from the COG site that now have a Tracer, so its good to see folks on this site too!

Cheers!

• Thumbsup 1

Hey Robzilla, 

Thanks for the welcome, I didn't expect to find other COGgers here!  Mine is a 2010, and heavily farkled as well (that's half he fun!). And I will miss the shaft drive and TPMS and that amazing motor, but it was time for a change...  I was thinking the other day that I need to buy some chain lube for he first time in 14 years 😞    I was planning to sell it privately, as I assumed the dealer would not want such an old bike, but they offered a reasonable amount in trade so I just made it easy for myself and did the trade. 

• Thumbsup 1