• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 37 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

Changing tires by hand

There is another thread focused on Tire Changers, such as No-Mar or clones by Harbor Freight
This thread is focused on using tire irons, with suggestions to make it easier.

I have been changing my own tires for 10 years, and believe it is a skill that gets easier as you learn the "tricks". As a starting point, here is a video showing tire change on FJ-09 / Tracer

I have Motion Pro tire irons - but I am of the opinion their bead breaker used in the video is only good for when you are off road.
Breaking the bead can be very challenging. This Harbor Freight bead breaker was money well spent for me. 

Bead_Break.jpg

Edited by Lone Wolf
  • Thumbsup 1
1980 Yamaha 850 Triple (sold). Too many bikes to list, FJ-09 is next on my list

In that video he uses "Windex" as lubricant. I believe that is why he is struggling so much. There are many brands of dedicated lube for tire changes, and any of them would have made that tire change go much easier.

Lube.jpg

Edited by Lone Wolf

In this photo (from NoMar video) you can clearly see where the "bead" of the tire sits on the outer parts of the rim. Once the tire is pushed down, and you have "broken the bead", the edge of your tire will be in the "drop center" also known as the "valley" of the tire. 

When you are trying to pry off a tire (or put it back on), it is very important to understand that that the other side of the tire needs to be in the drop center / valley of the wheel. In the video, Ari mentions this and uses his knee to push the opposite side of the tire into the valley.

Drop_center_.jpg

Edited by Lone Wolf