Over the instruments GPS mount

rodan

In the past, I've used RAM mounts for my GPS, and it worked fine.  But for the FJ, I wanted it to be a little easier to see.  Mounting it above the instruments was an interesting idea that was mentioned in one of the other threads, so I decided to investigate...

The stock windshield mounts to a plastic cover that mounts with a steel frame to the adjustment slider mechanism.  I decided that steel frame/bracket would be a good place to mount an arm that would extend up and back, behind the windshield, to which the GPS would mount.  Sorry, but I didn't get around to taking any pics of the bracket before I modified it.

Back in January, I picked up a TIG welder, with projects exactly like this in mind.  I'm by no means a professional welder, but I can stick stuff together, and it stays together.  I've fabbed a lot of stuff over the years, including bumpers, winch mounts, and tire carriers for my Bronco.  I was glad to have the TIG in this case, as it would have been really tough to do with my MIG....

I first bent up a bracket out of 1/8"x 2" mild steel, and welded that to the stock bracket.

DSC_0401_zpsdaaf6kek.jpg

Painted, and in place, without the plastic cover...

DSC_0404_zpsyq0vtnz2.jpg

With the cover in place.  The windscreen mounts to the cover (with plastic screws!).

DSC_0406_zpsxu0djtzf.jpg

GPS in place...

DSC_0413_zpshnrog8qk.jpg

Riders view...

DSC_0411_zpsv0xc0ug0.jpg

I may pull it back off and change a couple of bends in the bracket to make the angle of the GPS better match the instruments, but I'm going to take a couple of rides with it first, just to see how it works.  Power is drawn from the stock 12V socket.

Easy peasy (as long as you have a TIG...)...  8-)