Weak rear brakes?

I am new to the FJ about 500 miles now.  I noticed that the rear brakes are rather weak from what I am used to.  My question is this normal for the bike or is it just maybe cheap pads from the previous owner.  If it is normal what recommendations for a stickier rear pads.  Otherwise I will just replace them with a good quality replacement pads.    [ If I need to burn off a little speed just before corning I like using the rears brakes and It just seem to be way more effort than should be required.]

• Supporting Member

Sounds like something might be off. While the brakes on the FJ09/Tracer aren't the absolute best they shouldn't be noticeably bad outside of a 2-up fully loaded situation. Stock pads are perfectly capable for the machine.

I'd bleed the lines to be sure there's no air in the system and replace the pads without a second thought. Piece of mind for your brakes working and your safety is priceless.

When I moved to the tracer I found the rear brakes quite poor as well. Swapped for hh front and rear and that took care of it. I also use make my rear brake quite a bit for cornering and pretty much exclusively in town stop/go.

• Thumbsup 1

I am not talking lots of speed.  I have found that using the rear with the way a bike suspension is set up that it also compresses the springs slightly so you can enter the corner tight. 

I am not talking lots of speed.  I have found that using the rear with the way a bike suspension is set up that it also compresses the springs slightly so you can enter the corner tight. 

Thanks guys I will get some Hh pads and why I dont think there is air. I will bleed the brakes, in fact I was gonna to put new fluid in and purge the old fluid out later in the year. So I will just do that now. 

New fluid and HH pads.......you'll be right as rain, and like you I also scrub speed off for corners using both brakes, however my rear even with stock pads works quite well.

• Thumbsup 2