New but oldie biker from UK

happyrider

Hi,

Have been looking at this forum over past few months and now thought that I would like to join you. I collected my 900gt on May 21st from The Motorbike Shop in Farnborough, UK. I was told that this was the first delivered in UK, not sure about that? Four months later I have done just over 8,000 miles on it which included a tour of Wales and a ride into the Austrian Alps for two weeks. This Alps tour included visiting the Austrian Redbull MotoGP, a fabulous weekend.

I have been riding motorbikes for 58 years and have ridden dozens of different models. (If you do the mathematics that puts me in my 70s) I have to say that the 900gt is one of the nicest bikes I have owned. Picking up on remarks made on this forum I would say that the stock seat is very comfortable. On the Alps tour I rode a 550 mile day on two occasions and although aching a little my backside was not in it’s normal numb state after such a long time in the saddle.

I agree with other forum members that the stock screen is not good. So I have purchased the MRA with aerofoil. Being taller and wider it is a good improvement. The noise level and fly strikes on my helmet have now been reduced a lot. Being a lighter bike than what I have previously owned is great. I am amazed at the punch I get out of the 847cc triple engine, it is a great motor. Have to use the gears a little more but I enjoy doing that. I prefer the reduced size of the panniers as it keeps the bike narrow for filtering safely. When touring I have done a conversion on the back seat to take a large Triumph bag which nearly doubles my load capacity. Because this bag is close to me the bike handles very well with it on and a bonus is that it offers me an excellent back rest.