Dalton highway tire choices

I have this thread :

but i wanted to start a new one specifically for tire choices for the bike.

Due to the 17inch rims, there are not many off road tire options for the FJ. I am looking to compare and take suggestions on what tire i can use on Dalton Highway, AK. I have very little dirt riding experience but can manage slow speed easily. The bike will be fully loaded as I plan to camp most of the way from CA to Prudhoe Bay and back. I am looking to change the tires at Fairbanks as suggested by folks on the other thread, to ride on Dalton Highway and back. I am planning to run Michelin Pilot Road 5s from CA - Fairbanks - CA. From various threads they seem to last long enough for the trip. (more about that towards the end)

From my understanding following are the tire options that I have:

1. Continental TKC80 - called the Fairbanks tire guy at http://www.advcycleworks.com/tires . He mentioned that the bike might not have enough clearance to run the tires on it. Has anyone mounted these tires? Did you have to modify the fenders front or back? 

2. Continental TKC70 - less knobbier than the TKC80s. Not sure if they will be up for the task on dalton (again - very little dirt experience). I called up the Whitehorse, YT, Canada tire place (i was planning to change tires there previously) and he was completely against anything non knobby like the TKC80 (he swore by TKC80s). Also, have heard these tires have wobble issue - anyone experienced that?

3. Shinko 705 - similar to TKC70 but i have heard good things about them. The tire shop at Fairbanks does not carry those so i might have to ship them there. I am ok with it as long as the tires are good.