Suspension upgrades options

I’m new to the FJ09 world and quickly found out about the lacking forks and shock. So I’m looking to rebuild/replace both. I would love to hear what others have done and what they liked and disliked about their mods. I don’t have an unlimited budget but I’m not afraid to pay for the right parts if needed. I’ll add that as an old road racer I do ride a “spirited pace” both while loaded and unloaded. 😊

Thanks,

Chad

So far I am good with the suspension on the 2019 GT.  It's adequate but not ideal by any means.  I may eventually have the forks and shock rebuilt.

However I could not say the same for my 2013 Ninja 1000.  The rear shock was horrible and the front end was not a heck of a lot better.  Talked to the folks at Traxxion Dynamics and they basically offered two options.  Rebuild the stock bits with new springs, valving and fluids as well as polishing the front forks which was the less expensive option, or do the AK-20 cartridges up front and a Penske triple adjuster in the rear which cost quite a bit more money.  I went with the cheaper option and the results were excellent.  You don't have to break the bank to get good results.

• Thumbsup 2

There is nothing like spending a day riding with friends in the grip of a shared obsession.

• Supporting Member
1 hour ago, Darkduc said:

I’m new to the FJ09 world and quickly found out about the lacking forks and shock. So I’m looking to rebuild/replace both. I would love to hear what others have done and what they liked and disliked about their mods. I don’t have an unlimited budget but I’m not afraid to pay for the right parts if needed. I’ll add that as an old road racer I do ride a “spirited pace” both while loaded and unloaded. 😊

Thanks,

Chad

There are a few options available for the FJ/Tracer, basically either re-valve the factory parts or replace the shock and fork cartridges. 

Many members here have used K-Tech with fantastic results -