FJ09 2015 Clutch cable adjustment

pilgo

So , I need to adjust the clutch cable on my new to me FJ09 , as there is basically no biting point and far too much free play.

I've read the official Service Manual and it says to unlock the locking nut and turn the adjusting nut counter clockways , my question is should the adjusting nut be so far ' into '  the grooved part ( no idea what the official name for that part would be , sorry 😞 ) or should it be sitting against it , like the locking nut ? 

Apologies for being a numpty ,  but I'm no mechanic ( clearly ) 

Thanks in advance for the advice and sarcasm 😁 

20220206_144555.jpg

20220207_002023.jpg

• Premium Member

First up at clutch lever, how far out is it adjusted now?  The lower adjuster is for coarse setting, upper for fine tuning.

Turn in upper adjuster to within 8 +/- mm first.

Loosen lower adjusters bottom lock nut about 3 turns. 

Then, keeping the lower adjusters upper guide nut "engaged" in its slot, with open end spanner (wrench) back-out (turn CCW) adjuster body about 3~4 threads; as it appears it's currently all the way in (bottomed out).  Tighten locknut.

You will need to play with upper and lower adjustments to suit your tastes. 

It helps to replace the non-reach adjustable clutch lever with an adjustable lever (I like the brake and clutch levers that also have adjustable length and pivot up in a tipover.

• Thumbsup 2

• Supporting Member

2and 3 has beaten me to the punch.... what he said.

And to answer your question about if that nut is sitting correctly  - the answer is yes, it should be sitting in the groove.

• Thumbsup 1

• Premium Member

Daz, was my now edited instructions correct, clear and concise?

And how you and yours doing?!

Getting some good miles in?

Today we got up to 32/0 !

They say 42 on Wednesday!!!  Woowoo

You see my throttle cable lube mod post?

• Supporting Member

20 minutes ago, 2and3cylinders said:

Daz, was my now edited instructions correct, clear and concise?