Sliders Vs. Cages

Hi All,
My first post and proud owner since fall of 2016. 
I am starting to detail out my bike and am trying to decide if I should install an engine cage or go the slider route.  Any thoughts, +/-, would be appreciated. 
Note: if advocating for sliders, how many and where would they be placed?

Thanks for your time and happy riding, summer is right around the corner!

Why do you want to do this to your bike? 
Understanding this can help me give you good advice.
Good question.  Mostly to protect it in case of an "incident".  I don't drive it to hard, and by myself I doubt if I would ever have an accident; its the other guy/girl on the road.  And then there are animals- they don't seem to respect riders either :o). 
I have kicked around the idea of mounting some additional lights, but not sure if I want to go there or not.  I have been riding one bike or another since 1982...

"Incidents" happen all the time and are seldom predictable. I was out this weekend and watched from behind as a rider at traffic lights misjudged the camber of the road and the loose surface when putting his foot down. He only just avoided dropping the bike.

Even a stationary drop of the bike will scratch the handguards and mirrors, but it gets more annoying if you damage the engine covers.

Thinking about low speed spills I went for sliders on front and rear axles to try and minimise fork and frame damage, plus these are quite cheap. I then went for SW Motech engine guards as I wanted something that looked as unobtrusive as possible.

As for a high speed spill: you're in the lap of the gods and I worry much more about myself than the bike.

Red 2015 Tracer, UK spec (well, it was until I started messing with it...)

• Premium Member