Valve adjustment info

I've been doing some research on performing a valve adjustment on the FJ-09.  I've done many, many valve adjustments over the years  on the set screw and nut system.  Even checked the clearance on one of my FJR's a few years back.  (All clearances were within spec. Whew).

Never actually removed cams to change shims.  I find the Factory Service manual is not all that user friendly to the layman and I don't want to screw up the valve timing while re-installing the cams or the cam chain tensioner.   Does anyone have a copy of the Haynes service manual?  Is it any more user friendly than the factory version.   

Some of my older bike manuals had a cam chain tooth count and some detailed information for installing the camshafts.  (Kawasaki Concours 1000cc bikes.)    

Years ago I changed timing belts on a few Honda Accords and rebuilt their engines.  (Reconditioned cylinder head, new rod bearings, new rings etc.)  I have some reasonable hands experience but I would like a little more comprehensive information before moving forward.  

Any link to a diy video or other information would be great.

Also I have seen reference to shim kits (Hot cam, and ProX )   Is there a recommended shim kit that comes in small enough increments for proper valve adjustment.

Thanks.
Bill Hamilton

I haven't looked at the FJ 09 Factory Service Manual, but I did prefer it the factory manual over Haynes for my FZ1 and ZX9. As for shim kits, I bought individual shims from my local dealer. I think he had a K&S brand kit or Hot Cams. Most of the bike I checked were in spec, but my ZX9 had many out of spec on the first valve check. Most of the shims I bought were the same size.

• 1 year later...
1 hour ago, codeman said:

does anyone know what shim kits work? as far as hot cam? or k&s? I would like to purchase one before I start