New member from Arizona

abuelo

New member here from the central Arizona desert, and I'm contemplating trading for a Tracer 900GT.  Age is 73 and I've been riding for 23 years.  Started with a Honda 750 Nighthawk and then Hondas until 2007, a Goldwing, VT1100, and a VTX1300.  After hitting the asphalt on the VTX been riding Harleys, a Dyna I really liked but which wore out, and most recently a Sportster as I wasn't sure just what I wanted to replace the Dyna with.  Still don't, but I'm looking at the 900GT and a Suzuki SV650.

Interest is towards solo distance riding, and the Sporty hasn't been the best for that.  Have kids and grands on each coast, the nearest 1,500 miles away, and in the past preferred riding to either driving or flying.  Being able to do a 400 mile day and still be functional is acceptable, and I'm at the "If not now, when?" stage.  My leisure time is shared between motorcycling and build/flying heritage RC aircraft.

I know the difference between fast and quick, and the need for speed is long past.  I look for reasonable comfort as the "essence of motorcycling" is more important than outright comfort.  I can take my cage for that.  What I hope to find here is honest evaluations of various aspects of the 900GT, and I will contribute as appropriate.

• 2 weeks later...
  • Premium Member
I owned a SV650, and while a fun and great bang for the buck bike it doesn’t match my FJ-09 for touring practicality or comfort, and the 900GT might be better with the longer wheelbase. Do your research but my vote, as a big SV650 fan, is the Yamaha.

IBA Member #59800

3 Nations Brewing Mug Club #100