Don't Write off OEM Saddlebags and Shield

When I bought this bike I was already planning to add Givi sidecases and an aftermarket windshield before I even took the bike for a first ride. I knew about the stock sidecases but thought they were way too small compared to the aftermarket, plus they seemed to cost way too much. As for the shield, what a waste of acrylic! I couldn't see how that would protect me from the wind at all.
But then I started riding the bike and appreciated the OEM parts more. As for the shield, I don't think it was ever intended to block the wind from your face. I think the purpose of the stock shield is just to keep the wind off your torso. Yes, you can get a bigger after market shield. But if you are 6 feet or over, it will likely have to be a pretty tall shield to keep your head out of the wind. And a really tall shield is not only going to look goofy, but I would worry it may also be too much for the plastic bracket that holds it. 
As for the panniers, I saw some photos of the Givi PLX's on the bike, and I'm not sure I like the way those look either.  Part of what I like about this bike is that it is so thin and light compared to the big tourers I'm used to.  I don't want the bike to have a huge butt.  The Shads tuck in a little better but they are bulbous too.  And what if I want to take them off.  Just about all the aftermarket bags require racks that look hideous without the bags.
So now I'm thinking stock may not be so bad....

• Premium Member
The general consensus here is the older 2015 - 2017 OEM screen is junk. It's really not about where the air is hitting you. It's the fact that the air is so turbulent. We really haven't gotten a lot of feedback on the 2018, at least as far as I've seen. I have a Ermax tall screen on my 2015 and find it just about right. As always YMMV.