2016 Fj 09 ALL MINE!

Hey guys, whats up. I am Scott. I have been riding for a few years, and currently own a 2012 Ducati 848 EVO, but I am looking forward to getting something a little better for riding every day, and taking on longer trips. I have been looking into buying an FJ 09, and think that the 2016 silver with blue is awesome looking!

I have just a couple hesitations, so I am hoping you guys can settle them for me. First, I had a Yamaha FZ6R just before my Ducati, and HATED it. I bought it after having not ridden in 5+ years, and it was ok for getting back on a bike, but after I put 2k miles on it, I could not stand riding it anymore. I have given an FJ 09 a test ride, and it seemed great, I would just like a little more reassurance that I would not fall into the same thing with an FJ 09. I am 6'2", so I am pretty tall. The riding position was nice, but I did find that even with the (slightly) adjustable windscreen, it was knocking my helmet around quite a bit. Also I read that they are electronically limited to 115 mph. Does this bother anyone? Its a different style bike, but I have quite often gone 120+ on the Ducati, and I don't want to be disappointed that I can't go a little faster.

Other than those dumb little things, I am SUPER exciting with the idea of getting one, and I will most likely buy one and just figure it out anyways!

What exactly did you hate about your FZ6R?

Windshield is a problem for most, but there are lots of aftermarket options.  Yes, it's limited to 115 but there are flash options available that can remove that.  Although, if you do that often you may want to read some of the threads about speed wobbles.  I don't ride that fast, so I haven't read those threads but there's most certainly valuable information there.

Welcome