Air Hawk vs Bike Cushion

jim216

I'm am going on an extended trip in a couple of weeks and wanted to know if anyone has used the Air Hawk Cushion Seat or the Bike Cushion on their FJ-09. I like the stock seat, but after about 3 hours I'm starting to get pretty uncomfortable. I see both of these brands advertised with excellent reviews. I would most likely only use this seat once or twice a year when traveling 4 to 500 miles (my limit) in a day. Any comments would be appreciated, thank you.

• Premium Member
I've been using an Airhawk small pillion pad for a couple of years, it's just the right size to relieve the hot spots and doesn't take up much space. I don't use it much but sometimes on a real long day my butt will start crying so I'll get it out and use it with just a small amount of air.  I've used jell pads, beads and sheepskin and they help but with the Airhawk just a small change in the air pressure will make a big difference in comfort. 
BLB

I've been using an Airhawk small pillion pad for a couple of years, it's just the right size to relieve the hot spots and doesn't take up much space. I don't use it much but sometimes on a real long day my butt will start crying so I'll get it out and use it with just a small amount of air.  I've used jell pads, beads and sheepskin and they help but with the Airhawk just a small change in the air pressure will make a big difference in comfort. 
I found that the secret to success with an Airhawk seat-pad is to inflate it very lightly indeed - add minimal air. 

Riding a fully-farkled 2019 MT-09 Tracer 900 GT from my bayside home in South East Queensland, Australia.   

I never leave home without my Airhawk. Had for for 8 years now and just keep moving it from bike to bike.

Kimmie......the lady who likes to take little detours :)

For what it's worth, there's another air bladder type seat pad out there that's cheaper than most models of the Air Hawk

http://www.motomachines.com/Amphibious-Softseat-Large_p_5039.html