Do-it-yourself rear tire change?

jaxn

So I've been researching the forum for a week now and haven't found any threads on anyone changing their rear tire themselves. Maybe it's pretty easy, but I've never done it before in 25 years of riding. Finally got a screw in my rear tire, which was still oem and had 7500 miles on it and was ready for replacement. Looking to order a new Roadsmart 2 rear online and try mounting myself. Would like to know what other FJers use/do to replace their own tires.

I found this
online which makes it look straightforward and simple, if not easy. I plan to invest in the same tire irons and rim protectors. I'm very handy and have always done my own work on my bikes, but I find this intimidating for some reason. 
Suggestions? Recommendations? Warnings?

Thanks all.

I use a Cycle Hill changer :    http://www.nomartirechanger.com/Cycle_Hill_Tire_Changer_p/tc-ch100.htm

It's made by the Nomar people and uses their tools, but the stand is a little less elaborate to keep the cost down.  It works well.  You can do the tire iron thing if you want, but I'm too old for that, and don't need my fingers getting mashed up.  For a balancer I like Marc Parnes stuff:   http://www.marcparnes.com

It only takes two or three changes to pay for your equipment in cost savings.  You can buy the tires online at good prices and save on the mounting charges.

• Premium Member
So I've been researching the forum for a week now and haven't found any threads on anyone changing their rear tire themselves. Maybe it's pretty easy, but I've never done it before in 25 years of riding. Finally got a screw in my rear tire, which was still oem and had 7500 miles on it and was ready for replacement. Looking to order a new Roadsmart 2 rear online and try mounting myself. Would like to know what other FJers use/do to replace their own tires. 
I found this