Looking to purchase tomorrow!

I have been debating getting back on a bike for 6 years, and I have a fellow coming to show me a nice 2015 tomorrow outfitted with Vstream windscreen, outback panniers and only 1300 miles on the clock. Still under factory warranty as it was a new purchase for him about 6 months ago.....hes a career hobbyist looking to buy a car now.

Looking forward to hopefully joining the club...anything I should check over in this in particular/ price not to go above? He's asking 7250... Maryland.

Thanks, tons of questions about gear for commuting as I sold everything with the last bike and don't know where to start with all the new stuff.

• Supporting Member
With only 1300 miles on the bike, there shouldn’t be too much to check for. After you buy the bike, have your local Yamaha dealer run the VIN to check for recalls like @piotrek mentioned.
All of the factory short comings have been discovered and addressed and they are relatively minor, seat and windscreen for starters. Depending on how you ride, you may get by with the stock suspension. The one thing you won’t have any issues with is the motor, Yamaha hit a home run on this one.

***2015 Candy Red FJ-09***

Maryland...on a side note I dont know how I missed all the deficiencies in the suspension that are mentioned in this forum during my research. I weigh about 250 fully laden...sounds like I'm in for a disappointment. Was considering a 2016 Tiger 800XR as well, but it's asking about 1500 more. Was just hoping for 7k to get on and ride I guess. How much of a deal breaker is this do you think?

@com3 is slightly lighter than you, but frequently rides two up. He made his stock suspension work for a while. Although he recently swapped out and wishes he would have done that first thing.

'15 FJ09