Have you used your ABS?

I work for a large insurance company, but I work in IT so I don't deal with the business side much.  I've participated in their motorcycle enthusiast group, where they talk about all kinds of things like safety products, new innovative products, how much we ride and what products we'd accept from our insurance company as tracking/safety features for discounts.  BTW...our group consist of 8 Harley's, 2 other cruisers and a 2009 Street TripleR and my 2016 FJ-09.

One of the insurance guys stopped me in the gym to talk about ABS, he used to ride sport bikes.  He said they were thinking of offering discount for safety features like ABS, which is great! 

His question was, have you every used your ABS?  Is it like a cars ABS?  (because that'd be scary)  

I told him about how video's I've seen on youtube clearly show the benefit of ABS systems on motorcycles, but I had never used mine to my knowledge.  I have broke pretty hard twice for deer, but neither time did I actually lock the back wheel and feel the slide/chirp of hitting it to hard or see a light incidicator.  On my 04 FZ1 I had lock the rear tire a few times braking hard for objects in the road.

So FJ-09 forum members.  Have you ever used your ABS?  Do you have a story or can help explain how it felt?  I assume the FJ has a light indicator like the traction control does (I have tested that)? Please share your experience and/or story, as I'm interested to know.

• Premium Member
I braked suddenly on a wet road when a car stopped in front of me. It wasn't a gradual brake that would have transferred weight to the front. I felt the front brake lever pulse a few times. The tire maintained traction. I didn't experience any loss of control. Two thumbs up!

The ABS light indicator comes on after start up and before you move. I don't know if it comes on when the system intervenes, but that isn't necessary because you can feel the pulsing.