Motorcycle insurance, anybody had good luck with a claim

Some one close to me had his 6 month old BMW K1600 GTL totaled. He came out pretty good and credits the gear he wears.
The first call from Progressive he was told they would only pay as if the bike was a GT model and that everything that came on the higher end bike was an option.

Allstate fixed my van for free a couple of years ago after getting rear ended,but I haven't had to deal with a totaled vehicle. I'm knocking on wood now. 

I'm no expert on insurance, but if his bike was insured as a GTL I don't know how they could even legally say that. However I do know that there is a difference between "actual cash value" and "replacement value" insurance. Not sure if that has any bearings on this situation.

FWIW I had Progressive many years ago and totaled and old Ninja.. all it took was to bust up the fairings lol. They gave me more than I paid for the bike, including money to replace my helmet.

Good luck to your friend, insurance companies are a pain at times.

'15 FJ-09 w/ lots of extras...

Fayetteville, GA, USA

• Premium Member
I've had one claim, thanks the gods. It was a headache dealing with all the details, but luckily the insurance company paid 100% of the damages. It was the other guys fault for trying to make a left turn from the middle lane. So it was the other guys insurance company, and when I say guy, I mean lady in her young 20's still driving daddy's car and on daddy's insurance. Their insurance was State Farm.

One would think by the VIN number the insurance company would know what specific model the bike is.

My nephew hit a deer a couple years back on his H-D StreetGlide and Progresive handled it quick & easy and more than fair with the claim.

• Supporting Member
FWIW I had Progressive many years ago and totaled and old Ninja.. all it took was to bust up the fairings lol. They gave me more than I paid for the bike, including money to replace my helmet.