My first Tracer ride ever!

WastedMind3500

I took delivery of my 2019 Tracer 900 (used, roughly 9000 Km) last Friday, so today I took it out for the first time.

Background: I started riding 7 years ago.  Up to last Friday, I had had only one motorcycle, a 2009 VStrom 650.

Today's ride was roughly 400km through villages north of Montreal, Canada.  It was not the first time I had done that ride, allowing me to focus on driving, and less on navigation.

The good:

• GREAT engine!  Coming form a 650, this one is powerful and very responsive!  I kept it in B mode and it still surprised me a couple times. I used to fully turn the throttle on my V in some situations, I cannot do that on this bike (yet!  hahaha!).
  • Braking power is much better than I am used to.
  • It carries its weight very well, super stable even in slow speed maneuvers.  Very easy to adapt to!
  • The looks, I love it!
  • And my girlfriend stopped calling my bike a "geriatric two wheeler" !

The bad:

• Riding position.  I will have to find a way to lower and move forward the pegs.  The seat is already at the highest elevation.  FIX: read up on pegs options on this site.  Which will imply lowering the rear break pedal, which I already find too high.
  • The seat.  Oh my God...  Being firm is not a problem for me, it is just that there is an edge on the forward part of it, that cuts blood circulation in my thighs.  After about 1 hour, I feel effects from the reduced blood flow.  FIX: again, read on potential solutions, order something...  
  • Wind protection.  It was about 12C (about 54F) when I left.  Trust me, the hand guards are useless at that temperature.  FIX: get larger hand guards to cut the wind.  I know it will help, I had large ones on my V, in similar conditions.