Clutch adjustment

My clutch (2022 T9GT) does not start to engage until the lever is almost fully extended. 
I am getting used to it but I don't really like it.  I would like for the clutch to start engaging earlier in the lever travel.
I have never adjusted a motorcycle clutch before.   I have never needed to.
How do I  go about adjusting the clutch so that it starts to engage earlier?

thanks

Your clutch should begin to disengage within a few mm of pulling the lever in.  How much free play does your lever have right now? You can adjust the free play to reduce the amount of lever pull before the clutch begins to disengage. You definitely want some free play. IF you have a slipper clutch I have no experience with those. As my 2015 FJ09 doesn't have one

2 hours ago, tgas said:

I have never adjusted a motorcycle clutch before.   I have never needed to.
How do I  go about adjusting the clutch so that it starts to engage earlier?

This isn't your bike - but a decent orientation to clutch adjustment

1980 Yamaha 850 Triple (sold). Too many bikes to list, FJ-09 is next on my list

1 hour ago, Brentinpdx said:

Your clutch should begin to disengage within a few mm of pulling the lever in.  How much free play does your lever have right now? You can adjust the free play to reduce the amount of lever pull before the clutch begins to disengage. You definitely want some free play. IF you have a slipper clutch I have no experience with those. As my 2015 FJ09 doesn't have one

I am sorry.  I did a poor job of stating my question.  When you let out the clutch you are "dis-engaging" the clutch, and when you pull in the clutch you are "engaging" the clutch.  Or at least that is the way I understand it.