• Who's Online   0 Members, 0 Anonymous, 49 Guests (See full list)

• There are no registered users currently online

New Motorcycle Lift Day - Oh noooooooo

I love working on the bike but lower back pain is killing me so after a lot of thought I finally bought myself a nice motorcycle lift table.

I finished installing it and found that it fits just under my SUV in my small garage. There's just room for the car and nothing else except a few very narrow things against the walls.

Why am I telling you this you might wonder...

I finished installing the lift and couldn't wait to get the bike up there. First time that I had to push it up on a small ramp so I made sure that I had a good grip, one hand on the handlebars and one the passenger rail, got a little speed and.. down it crashed to the right side!! I couldn't believe it. I just stared incomprehensibly at my previously immaculate bike that I had been enjoying for 15 months. Then I realized that I would not be able to pick it up. The wheels were still raised on the platform and the top of the bike was against the wall of the garage.

Called my girl in a panic and we got it up again. The mirror had broken off but that seemed to be the worst of it at first glance. What came next will horrify you. I must have been in shock because even though I had no idea how this could have happened I immediately tried again WITH THE SAME RESULT! This time the footrest broke. The Chinese FJR one. It just broke in half.

That's when I realized that it was the side-stand that was causing this. I always leave it down when rolling the bike around in the shed next to the garage or even take it out of the shed. A habit that I created to be safer at a time where I was afraid to lose control over the bike while walking around with it. Now that habit bit me... hard.