Oxygen cannula?

griskins

Not so much a gear review as a gear question. I am recently on supplemental oxygen. I tried to put on my full face helmet today (the only kind I'll use) and it pulled off my oxygen cannula every time. Anyone got a solution for this? Has anyone tried wearing a cannula under a modular helmet?

• Sad 1

different types of nasal cannulas out there. Do you wear the cannula with tube going over your ears and gather in front at your adams apple?  Some cannulas have bigger ports (ie the prongs that go into the nose). and also if you're using an oxygen concentrator it might be tough.  If your helmet has removeable cheekpieces you could try that.

It's kind of like with wearing glasses, and you may have to reposition the nasal prongs once you have the helmet in place. I've never done this, but I'm a nurse and so I'm familiar with the equipment.

• Thumbsup 1

Yes, I use a cannula that goes over the ears and gathers at the throat. Apparently the neck pads on the helmet peel down my ears and do the same with the cannula. The ears spring back, but not the cannula. I cannot reposition it after the helmet is on- no room to get my fingers in back of my ears.

• Supporting Member

I would find a Cycle Gear or some other big ridding gear store near you that has a large collection of helmets. Go and try a bunch of modular helmets on with your cannula. I have seen more than one rider using them with modular helmets. 

• Thumbsup 2

He who dies with the most toys wins.

11 minutes ago, griskins said:

Yes, I use a cannula that goes over the ears and gathers at the throat. Apparently the neck pads on the helmet peel down my ears and do the same with the cannula. The ears spring back, but not the cannula. I cannot reposition it after the helmet is on- no room to get my fingers in back of my ears.

the other option would be to consider a flip up helmet like schuberth or similar. .

• Supporting Member
46 minutes ago, roadrash83 said: