Shifting

So I’m new in the world of motorcycles. I was looking around and found a 2019 tracer 900 for a good deal. I took it for a test ride and was able to shift without using the clutch, but only at high RPMS. So my first thought is cool it has a quickshifter installed. Bought it, rode it home, started to work on it a little and I realized it doesn’t have a quickshifter like I thought and was told. So my question is why was I able to shift at high RPMS if it doesn’t have a quickshifter on it?

• Thumbsup 1

• Supporting Member

You stumbled on an advanced technique :)

• Thumbsup 1

2015 FJ-09 / FJR touring bags / oil plug mod / Evotech rad guard / SW Motech bash plate / VStream touring windshield / Seat Concepts:  Sport Touring / Vcyclenut ABS rings (speedo correction) / Cosmo RAM mount

• Supporting Member

Personally I do not have one, but there are a few threads here that discuss installation and whatnot.

• Thumbsup 1

2015 FJ-09 / FJR touring bags / oil plug mod / Evotech rad guard / SW Motech bash plate / VStream touring windshield / Seat Concepts:  Sport Touring / Vcyclenut ABS rings (speedo correction) / Cosmo RAM mount

The quickshifter was standard on the GT in 2019, but not on the base model Tracer.  Don't use mine a lot.  It's nice on occasion but its function is not the smoothest.  I have tried quickshifters on other bikes and they tend to do a better job.  I think the one that comes with the GT could be better calibrated.

• Thumbsup 1

There is nothing like spending a day riding with friends in the grip of a shared obsession.

• Supporting Member

I have a quick-shifter on my 2019 Niken and added the OEM quick-shifter to my 2017 FJ-09 and both work/worked great. They shift changes are really smooth over 4000rpm, below that they can be clunky. FWIW the manual calls for use above 12mph and 4000rpm. I had issues when I installed the one on my 2017 until I made a few slight changes to the rod travel length. Easy install and fun to have.

• Thumbsup 1