How do you answer, "What do you ride?"

• Premium Member
I'm trying to figure out an answer to the question I've gotten a number of times - "What do you ride?"

The FJ-09 is my first motorcycle and I'm completely new to the "motorcycle world" so to speak.  It seems like when I try to explain what I've got all I get is a blank stare.  It usually goes like this...

Them: "What kind of bike do you ride?"
Me: "I have a Yamaha, FJ-09.  They call it a sport touring bike..."
<commence blank stare>
Me: "Like a cross between a sport bike and a touring bike..."
<continue stare>

I don't know if it's because of the proliferation of Harley's and/or "crotch rockets" (mainly Harley's where I live), but I get the impression that they get lost when I don't say, "I have a Harley" or "I have <insert super fast crotch rocket brand>".

So, I'm curious, do any of you get a similar response?  And, how do you answer when someone asks what kind of bike you have or what you ride?

• Premium Member
I'm trying to figure out an answer to the question I've gotten a number of times - "What do you ride?" 
The FJ-09 is my first motorcycle and I'm completely new to the "motorcycle world" so to speak.  It seems like when I try to explain what I've got all I get is a blank stare.  It usually goes like this...

<commence blank stare>
<continue stare>

I don't know if it's because of the proliferation of Harley's and/or "crotch rockets" (mainly Harley's where I live), but I get the impression that they get lost when I don't say, "I have a Harley" or "I have <insert super fast crotch rocket brand>".

So, I'm curious, do any of you get a similar response?  And, how do you answer when someone asks what kind of bike you have or what you ride?
I usually just get, "nice bike". I nod and say ya, I love it.  
A government which robs Peter to pay Paul can always depend on the support of Paul.
George Bernard Shaw (1856-1950)
Bikes: