Brakes, what's all the fuss about?

I recently purchased my bike and read up on it voraciously both before and after the buy.  And one ting that I see pop up more tan I'd like is folks whining about how the brakes are mushy or inadequate somehow.

This is my 1st really new bike in *ages*, I've been buying and selling off many many bikes for the past 25 years.  However, the newest of the lot have been a string of '97-'99 Bandit 1200s and for a very brief while a 2004 GSXR 1000.  And I have to say that I find the FJ's brakes worlds better than what the Bandits had.  And I never ran into anything on those bikes fitted as they were.

I've only put 200 mi. on the bike so far, and I'm being judicious with my use of the brakes until they are fully bedded in and so that I've had time to build my muscle memory for the way they work.  And I think they work a treat.  I've run the bike up to 100 and then hauled in on the binders and the bike just squatted ever so slightly and decelerated very rapidly, IMHO.  FWIW, the bike is outfitted with Race Tech up front and out back.  The bike stops so nice and quickly with such nice control that I wonder just what you'd have to do to get the ABS to kick-in? 

Can these bikes do stoppies or will the ABS spoil that bit of tom foolery?  The Bandits and GSXR were able to do stoppies, but they did not have ABS or TCS.  I know you can defeat the ABS by pulling the green fuse.  But I just wish the factory would allow us to switch it off as a matter of convenience.

Anyway, what do you guys think about the brakes? Has anyone tried some HH pads or something like that to get more "bite"?  I actually prefer for my brakes to not come on with a lot of grab up front, I'd rather squeeze it more slowly, progressively, and firmly as I'm doing my braking...

-CD-